The American Astronomical Society Historical Astronomy Division

hereby awards the

2017 Donald E. Osterbrock Book Príze

for Historical Astronomy to

Thomas Hockey

Editor in Chief of the "Biographical Encyclopedia of Astronomer" (2nd edition).

and to

Jíří Grygar

for his valued contribution to that work.

Editors: Virginia Trimble, Thomas R. Williams, Katherine Bracher, Richard A. Farrell, Jordan D. Marche III, JoAnn Palmeri, and Daniel W.E. Green

Presented in January 2017

Kenneth Rumstay Secretary-Treasurer, HAD

Marc Rothenberg Chair, HAD